Come Dine With Me

A couple of months ago, our small circle of friends decided to recreate the popular Come Dine with Me TV show and take turns serving a lavish meal with all the trimmings. We were the second couple in the line-up and yesterday evening was our night to pull out the stops and play ‘hostess with the mostest’.
 
The first Couples Come Dine With Me had been hosted the month before by my sister and brother in-law and they had done a fantastic job of serving a grilled prawn starter, roast lamb for the main and a beautiful trio of desserts that included the most amazing baked cheesecake and homemade ice-cream. Their dinner party game, which involved picking up a box from the floor using only your mouth, had everyone in stitches (figuratively but very nearly literally too!) so the competition was tough. 

BD and I decided on a menu that would allow us to do most of the prep in advance thereby allowing us to relax with our guests and not spend all night in the kitchen. I enjoy cooking and I love sitting down to a meal with family and friends but I’m not one for spending endless hours preparing a meal. My time is better spent enjoying the company and eating the food! So I always look for delicious meals that are not too technical or time consuming. 

BD has a certain skill when it comes to cooking steak so that was our choice for the main. It’s one of the few things he can cook besides frying an egg or pancakes. Hey I’m not complaining just explaining our combined skills in the kitchen 🙂  

I also ALWAYS adapt recipes to suit the ingredients I have in my fridge or the ingredients I’d prefer to eat so the links to my recipes are only a guideline. 

Come Dine with Me Menu:

Roasted cherry tomatoes, brie and pancetta phyllo cups with roasted red pepper soup

Grilled fillet with blue cheese butter
Garlic infused portabello mushrooms with balsamic 
Rocket, butternut and beetroot salad

Molten cocolate soufflé and vanilla ice cream 

BD made the most amazing Strawberry Mojito’s which we sipped while watching the sunset from our balcony and enjoying the warm Spring air. I think these had everyone feeling relaxed pretty quickly. 

Later we played a fun question game that I had composed earlier in the day by writing a bunch of funny, random questions on separate pieces of paper and putting them in a bag. Everyone took a turn to pull out a question and while they wrote their answer on a small blackboard the rest of us had to guess what we thought their answer would be which resulted in a lot of humorous debates.

All in all it was lovely evening and I’m glad I went for a menu that didn’t have me sweating it out in the kitchen all night. The food was delicious and our guests were very complimentary. Although that may have been influenced by the mojitos and red wine! 😉

Leave a Reply

